Little pieces of Ayiti in Photos

IMG_1820I love the spelling of  A Y I T I displayed in our Haitian Creole language format. The sound is a beautiful symphony that leaves you breathless. There’s a great sense of pride as you briefly remember its history. The spelling just brings happiness to me. It makes my mind travel back to the memories that I’ve made with her along the way since I came back from my absence. It reminds me of all the beautiful smiles that opened up shy conversations with happy little children from the beautiful country sides. It also deepens my memories of how these children usually invite me in rounds of cheerful numbers of jumping ropes with their creative made up songs and how can I forget the fast rhythmic hand clapping games with smiles they can’t  contain.

On the side there are the men who are truly anticipated in their games of cards and dominoes and betting on whoever will win or lose.Then there’s the high mountains of this island that fascinates me whenever I am staring at how tall and proud they stand. So much shades of colors, sweet and sour that compose this world of mine. Whenever I look through the windows in my daily tasks, I see a nation who knows no laziness. Mothers and Fathers who are striving their very best to give their children a better future.

Oh! yes! the frustrations are present

Oh! yes they are obvious

Oh! yes there are systems that raise all of the hair from my back but it’s the foundation of my love for her that will and shall remain steady.

“Round my hometown memories are fresh. Round my hometown ooh the people I’ve met are the wonders of my world” Adele

IMG_0498
Muted out away from Port-Au-Prince at Montrouis
11096823_10205400075297213_1095627598_o
Direction : Up North to the Town of Gonaives
All the way up in the mountains of Fermathe
All the way up in the mountains of Fermathe
love8
Backyard at home
IMG_2403
Taking it all in at Morne Boutillier Up in the Mountains
IMG_2364
Looking over all around Port-Au-Prince (Capital of Haiti) on top of Morne Boutillier

IMG_1824

“Round my hometown memories are fresh. Round my hometown ooh the people I’ve met are the wonders of my world” Adele

It’s All Love

Sophie

Leave a Reply

